top of page
Search
  • oscarsolis9

Week 1: Little Steps

I decided to assist the Tree Identification and Inventory Project (T.I.I.P) as the assignment for my Senior Capstone Project. The Tree Identification and Inventory Project works in collaboration with the South Orange Environmental Commission to identify the public trees in South Orange and catalog them into a database using a cloud based software called Tree Plotter. The other student I am working with is Melanie Wedemeier and for this first week we were assigned to create a logo for T.I.I.P, an awareness pamphlet to give to people when we are out in the field identifying and cataloging trees, and another sheet with basic steps to assist people in identifying trees. In the following months we plan to assist T.I.I.P with whatever they need and eventually we will go out in the field and catalog trees into Tree Plotter. I have previous experience using Tree Plotter and volunteering for T.I.I.P so I was more than happy to make this my Senior Capstone. Trees are such an important part of the environment and if I can help raise awareness on the importance of public South Orange trees to South Orange residents would be great. I care about the community of my university and using Tree Plotter would protect those trees that are so vital to South Orange. Below is a map of South Orange with the colored area being areas that already have their trees cataloged. Over time the plan is to cover all of South Orange.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page